The HRT Blogs #3 - Periods

10th Jan 2023

Content warning: this blog post contains discussions about periods and mentions of some anatomy that some people might consider sensitive. Also, it is not my intention to claim that anyone is not legitimate because they don't have periods, different bodies are different and that's completly valid.

Something that a lot of peolpe don't know is that trans women can have periods. I'm not sure about the science of why it happens but a lot of trans women report it happening.

What I didn't expect is that I'd have my first period less than a month after starting HRT, in fact, I may have had a very minor one a few days after starting HRT.

My first period involved a few days of mood swings. I went from feeling like I usually do to being overwhelemed by elation, so much so that I wanted to cry.

Then, nearly a month later I felt the exact same elation, followed by some less positive symptoms.

The evening of my second period was marked by pain and tiredness, the elation was gone and replaced by aches across my whole body, tiredness, breast tenderness and even a bit of abdominal cramping. In other words, PMS symptoms.

The symptoms eased after that night and after a few days they were gone all together, besides the breast tenderness anyway.

Overall, my second period was a painful expeiernce. But, it was an affirming one too. I feel like it has marked the beginning of womanhood for me. I honestly wouldn't hate to experience this again next month, it feels like something my body is supposed to do

Go Back